Meet Leigh Anne Burke-Schaad | #IAmJLL

image

We are so excited to hear from Leigh Anne this week on the blog. Leigh Anne is an asset to Junior League of Louisville and she gets it done! Thankful for you Leigh Anne!

When and why did you join JLL?
I joined in 2009. At that time I was looking for some balance outside of work. I worked really long hours and wanted to feel like I was contributing something to make the world a better place.

What was your favorite project during your time with the League?
We have had several programs and projects that I have enjoyed. However, the thing I have enjoyed most about the league is it has given me a place to grow personally and professionally. It has been a great safety net to build leadership skills. It has made me a better employee, volunteer, friend and wife. For that I will forever be grateful.
What did you personally learn/gain while being involved in JLL?

So many things. I have learned to juggle multiple deadlines, manage and lead a staff of volunteers, to be a more compassionate person, a better listener and so much more. Being a part of the league made me more secure in who I am as a leader and a person.
How do you feel JLL impacts the community? I think one of our biggest assets in our trained volunteers. While we plan and participate in many community programs within the league the majority of our volunteers also volunteer outside the league. Many organizations and our city are a better place because of the trained volunteers of JLL.
With JLL launching our new Issue Based Community Impact (IBCI), what are ways you see the League impacting education in our community? This is a great opportunity for us to make a lasting impact in Louisville. I think we have the opportunity not only to develop programs but educate our members and community at large about education short falls and how we can improve those. Knowledge is power and those who are well informed are more likely to take action.
If you know someone interested in JLL, what would you tell them? To borrow a line from Nike, Just Do It! You will not regret the time you put in. Just like anything else you get what you put into it. I have made good friends, learned more about Louisville than I would have on my own, been inspired by sustaining members and current members. The League reminds me daily that there is a lot of good in the world and for that I am thankful.

Leave a Reply

