Meet Michelle Black White | #IamJLL

We are excited to get to know Michelle a little bit better! Michelle works with W by Worth and has been with the league since 1994. Read below to hear more about her #IamJLL journey.

image

What was your favorite project during your time with the League?

If I can only choose one project as my favorite, it was being a part of the Splendor In The Bluegrass committee. It was truly an all-hands-on-deck project for the League and I loved gathering groups of friends to test and rate recipes for the book. A personal highlight after the book was published was having my recipe submission (my father’s recipe for Grits Gruyere) included in the AJLI cookbook, The Junior League at Home.

What did you personally learn/gain while being involved in JLL?

The League has taught me many things but learning how to effectively lead and work with groups of volunteers is the skill that I use the most. I currently serve as a board member for the Kentucky Museum of Art and Craft, interim CEO for Gallopalooza, a Stylist/Agency Leader for W byWorth, and as a volunteer in my sons’ school, and I use the training and skills from the League daily in each of these roles.

How do you feel JLL impacts the community?

The League has impacted Louisville in so many ways by providing leadership, volunteers and funding to create solutions to fill needs within the community. I am amazed at how many organizations we have touched over our 95 years.

If you know someone interested in JLL, what would you tell them?
I cannot imagine not being a part of the League. I cherish the friendships I have made over the years and love staying connected as a Sustainer through the monthly book club.

I know that if I ever move away from Louisville, contacting the League in my new hometown will be one of the first things I do!

Leave a Reply

